HISTORY OF NFC - 2000 - 2009

With 10 wins, 11 losses and fifth position on the ladder, this season underachieved.
There was a high number of experienced people lost and replaced by a competent but largely
inexperienced collective group.
Former player Peter Dalwood passed away, May 22 having played 147 games, kicked 282 goals,
7 state matches, a three time premiership player, (1946,1948,1950), was leading club goal kicker
3 times, and topped the SANFL goal kicking list in 1946 with 80 goals.
Dalwood kicked 10 goals or more in a game twice.

The club won 12 games, lost 10 and finished fourth on the ladder.
A new major sponsor, Cooper's Brewery was welcomed by the Norwood Football Club.
The Norwood Team of the Century was announced on August 25.
The Team:
Coach: Jack Oatey
F: Neville Roberts, Bruce Schultz, Robert Oatey
HF: Garry McIntosh, Neil Button, Albert 'Pongo' Sawley
C: Phil Gallagher, Alick Lill, Doug Olds
HB: Ron Kneebone, Walter Scott, Syd White
B: Michael Taylor, Syd Ackland, John 'Alby' Bahr
Ruck: John Marriott, Michael Aish, Jack Oatey (c)
Res: John Wynne, Kevin 'Sam' Gallagher, Keith Thomas, Kingsley 'Bill' Wedding

The club celebrated the centenary of our first game at Norwood Oval, May 4, with a good win over
Sturt 12-10 to 9-13 before a crowd of 13,745 spectators.
Brett James captained South Australia in interstate matches.
Former club coach Alan Killigrew passed away, June 10.

Garry McIntosh returned to Norwood as senior coach, winning 18 games, 5 losses and finishing
third, but ended poorly with a bad loss to Sturt in the Preliminary Final.
Brett James captained South Australia in interstate matches.
1936 Magarey Medallist Bill McCallum passed away January 2.
Investigation into the losses incurred with the running of the Redlegs Club in Woods Street.

Norwood celebrated the club's 125th Anniversary but the club slipped to sixth on the ladder,
winning 9 games, losing 10 and drawing 1.
The Woods Street property which housed the Redlegs Club was sold for $3.15 million.
The club's administration was re-located to a property on Beulah Road.
Hamish Tamlin was awarded the Reserves Magarey Medal.

The club had a very poor season, winning only 4 games, losing 16, and finishing on the bottom of
the ladder for the first time since 1968 and only the 6th time in history.
Hubert 'Tom' Warhurst passed away January 23. He captained the club (1939-40), won the Club
Best & Fairest (1939) and played in the 1946 premiership team.
The Redlegs Club in Woods Street was demolished.

Statistically, this season was an improvement winning 9 games, losing 11 and finishing sixth.
Scott Borlace won the Fos Williams Medal for the best player in the interstate match versus VFL
at TEAC Oval (Port Melbourne).
Who will ever forget the last minor versus North Adelaide at Adelaide Oval, September 3?
Submerged in pools of water, the players splashed and swam their way to victory, 5-10 to 4-9.
Brett James and Troy Clements played their 200th games for the club during the season.

The club won 9 games, lost 11 to finish in seventh position.
Fairmont Homes became the club's new major sponsor, whilst Cooper's Brewer remained as
sponsor of the Norwood Oval.
Scott Borlace captained South Australia against Western Australia at Adelaide Oval.
Ryan Lewis was awarded the Reserves Magarey Medal.
Jack Bampton was awarded the McCallum Medal for the Under 17 competition.

Norwood finished in seventh position once more, this time winning 8 games and losing 12.
The club has now missed the finals 5 seasons in a row, the longest stretch since 1966 to 1971.
Club great Kingsley 'Bill' Wedding passed away, June 30.
Big Bill' played 214 games, 19 state games, won 5 Best & Fairest awards All-Australian selection
at the 1961 Brisbane Carnival, and was chosen in Norwood's Team of the Century.

The club won 10 matches, lost 12 and drew 1 to play finals for the first time since 2002.
After a win over Port Adelaide in the Elimination Final, they found Sturt far too good in the First
Semi Final to finish in fourth position.
Norwood registered its lowest score since football began at the Norwood Oval in 1901 when they
kicked only 1-3 to Glenelg's 13-15 on May 23.

After making the finals the year before, and recruiting well, the club had yet another disappointing
year finishing seventh with only 7 wins and 13 losses.
During the season, Trevor Hill was replaced as coach by Jarrod Cotton.
The season saw the introduction of the Under 16 & Under 18 Centre of Excellence programs,
as well as the Norwood Skills Academy.
Norwood won the Under 16 premiership.

A Team of the 2000s:
Coach: Garry McIntosh
F: Jamie Vlatko, Taylor Walker, Scott Carslake
HF: Robert Neill, Stuart Bown, Bryce Campbell
C: James Thiessen, Brett James (c), James Gallagher (vc)
HB: Troy Clements, Scott Bassett, Scott Direen
B: Matthew Dawes, Stephen Daniels, Kieran McGuinness
Ruck: Jon Yerbury, Brett Zorzi, Scott Borlace
Res: Matthew Bartemucci, Kris Massie, Jon Robran, Nick Jackman, Jarrod Cotton, Luke Nitschke